Current
Older
Profile
E-mail
Guestbook
Notes
Design
Host

oh no. my brain.

12:49 p.m., 2002-03-14

quote of the day

They're like sheep. They wake up in the morning and they're surprised by things like sun and grass.

----Tim Mullen


Stupidity Attack!!!!

for the past two days I've been so stupid I was afraid to face another human being. connecting the dots, adding 2 and 2 in any thought process, has been beyond me. I never know what to say, either, when people catch me acting like this. everybody knows I've had my issues (read: IIISSSSHUUUUES) with my brain and the medication thereof, but the sudden drops in I.Q. are just too much of a social faux pas. because people start thinking "Wow, I thought she was halfway intelligent, but she just gave me a 500 yen coin when I asked to borrow a quarter." or whatever Dan Quayle thing I happen to have done.

anyway, yesterday went very fast, as most Wednesdays do. 0 and I went out to continue our quest for Best Good Asian Food. we tripped over to the Eden Shopping Center, which is like stepping into Saigon for a while. the place even has a tiny little temple. it always brings back serious memories of Tokyo, what with not being able to read the signs, and all the little people with cigarettes crashing into you and laughing. Viet-Royale, we discovered, has terrific beef noodle soup, even better than Pho Dong or whatever that place is in Falls Church. lots of cilantro and lime juice. and they take credit cards.

on the way out, I got sucked into a tiny little store that was apparently run by no one. what sucked me in was the sight of fetishy six-inch spike heeled shoes-- rows and rows of them. the kind of shoes that Dream Dresser would sell for $150 or more. this place had them on a rack marked "Clearance-- $15." I wiped the drool from my face and started pawing through them to see whether any were big enough to fit size 7 1/2. 0 pointed out a filmy red-and-gold dress in the window. "What do you think of that?" he says. "Would you wear that?"

I glanced up and said, sure, if they had one that wasn't quite so glittery. then I looked at the one next to it-- long and white, with a train. then I looked around the rest of the shop. "Holy shit." see, THIS is how goddamn stupid I am. we were in an Asian bridal boutique. the red-and-gold number was a Chinese wedding dress. there were some Western-traditional white numbers, but a lot more of them were red or indigo brocade and velvet. instead of veils, there was a rack of tiny round satin hats with handkerchiefs attached. the fetish shoes were for brides and bridesmaids.

after my dream the other night, this was too much synchronicity for me. I shut off my brain for the rest of the day and then went out drinking with my friends.

I AM TIRED OF BEING REMINDED OF MARRIAGE AND WEDDINGS EVERY GOD DAMN DAY. I HATE THIS FUCKING COUNTRY.


last entry - next entry